ARCHIVE‎ > ‎archive 2011‎ > ‎Top News Story‎ > ‎


posted 22 Jun 2010, 02:42 by Unknown user   [ updated 22 Jun 2010, 02:43 by Denis Tuohy Agricultural Consultant ]



Turloughmore of Galway claim the Christy Ring Trophy for the first time.


Uachtarán Chumann Lúthchleas Gael Criostóir Ó Cuana hails 40th anniversary celebrations as unique celebration of Gaelic games


Date: 20th June 2010


Galway Club Turloughmore claimed the Division One title at the Coca-Cola GAA Féile na nGael Division 1 final in Cusack Park in Ennis today. It was the Club's first such success and they held off the challenge of Na Piarsaigh of Cork in the final on a scoreline of 0-12 to 1-4.


In the Camogie Division 1 final, Lucan-Sarsfields of Dublin defeated Burgess-Duharra of Tipperary by 6-4 to 0-2, winning the Corn Uí Phuirseil trophy they last won in 2008.


2010 marked the 40th anniversary of the Féile na nGael competition, which are the All-Ireland Under-14 hurling, camogie and handball finals. This year the finals took place throughout the County of Clare from June 18th - 20th, culminating in the finals today in Cusack Park in Ennis.


Over 4,000 youths, from clubs throughout Ireland and beyond, participated in the finals over the three days of competition.


Speaking in Ennis today, The President of the GAA congratulated everyone associated with the event. He said: "This weekend marked a significant milestone for Féile na nGael and the GAA. A sincere thanks to everyone in Clare, both the organisers and participants, who contributed to such a magnificent weekend, a fitting tribute to the 40th anniversary celebrations, one that will live long in the memory of everyone who attended".


Coca-Cola has supported Féile na nGael since the competition began in 1971 and this year marked their 40th anniversary of their sponsorship. Coca-Cola also sponsors the Féile Peile na nÓg competitions, which take place in Derry on July 2nd -4th. Erica Roseingrave, Public Affairs and Communications Manager of Coca-Cola said:  "Coca-Cola is proud of its association for 40 years with Féile. That Féile na nGael has reached this milestone and is stronger than ever is a testament to the clubs, officials, players and everybody who nurtured this wonderful festival of sport since it began in 1971. Congratulations to everyone who contributed to such a wonderful celebration of Gaelic games in Clare this weekend".


2010 Coca-Cola GAA Féile na nGael Final Results


Div 1 Christy Ring Trophy Turloughmore 0-12, Na Piarsaigh 1-4.

Div 2 Canon Fogarty TrophyRaharney 4-10, Bredagh 1-3.

Div 3 Michael Cusack Trophy Catletowngeoghen 5-8, Ruádhán 5-8.

Div 4 Dr Birch Trophy St Brekins 1-7 Tubber / Crusheen 1-5.

Div 5 McMahon Trophy Naomh Eoin 1-4, Ogonelloe 1-2.

Div 6 Lár Tíre Trophy Seán O'Heslins Ballinamore 2-2, Old Christians 0-3.


Div 1 Corn Uí Phuirséil Lucan Sarsfields 6-4 Burgess Duharra 0-2

Div 2 Caithlín Ní Thoimín Shield Éire Óg Ennis 2-3, Camross 1-1.

Div 3 Shield Celbridge 5-1 Wolfe Tones Shannon 1-1

Div 4 Coiste Chontae an Chláir Shield Ciarraí 4-5 Cill an Aonaigh 0-0