ARCHIVE‎ > ‎archive 2015‎ > ‎Football Match Reports‎ > ‎

EirGrid Munster U21 Football Championship Semi-Final

posted 18 Mar 2015, 15:03 by John O'Sullivan   [ updated 18 Mar 2015, 15:03 by Denis Tuohy Agricultural Consultant ]

  Tipperary 0-15   Clare 0-7

Tipperary are through to a third successive EirGrid Munster U21 Championship final against Cork.

The Premier County beat Clare by eight points in this evening’s semi-final at Semple Stadium to set up another joust with the Rebels on April 8.

Jason Lonergan scored 0-5 for Tipp as they came good late on to get past the dogged challenge of the visitors.

Tipp were 0-7 to 0-4 clear at half-time, as Clare failed to register from play until four minutes after the break.

Tipp had nine different scorers on the night as senior panellist Jamie Malone was the only Clare player to score from play.


Scorers for Tipperary: J Lonergan 0-5, L Casey & S O’Brien 0-2 each, C O’Riordan, B Maher, I Fahey, P Maher, J McGrath & J Keane (f) 0-1 each.

Scorers for Clare: K Sexton 0-4f, J Malone 0-2, P O’Malley 0-1f.

TIPPERARY: E Comerford; K Fahey, J Feehan, C O’Shaughnessy; C O’Riordan, R Mulcahy, B Maher; L Casey, S O’Brien; J Lonergan, I Fahey, P Shanahan; P Maher, J McGrath, J Keane. Subs: D McEnroe for Keane (44), G Cronin for Shanahan (50), T Sweeney for P Maher (57).

CLARE: K Normoyle; C O’Mahoney, J O’Dea, C Brennan; D Nagle, C O’Brien, C O’Dea; E Hanrahan, J Malone; L Corry, P O’Malley, D Masterson; M O’Leary, K Sexton, E Courtney. Subs: D Burke for Hanrahan (28), C Cleary for Masterson (h.t.), M Byrne for Corry (h.t.), J Downes for O’Malley (41), N Bonfil for Courtney (58), C MacNelis for O’Mahoney (60+1).

Referee: J Bermingham (Cork)