ARCHIVE‎ > ‎archive 2015‎ > ‎Football Match Reports‎ > ‎

Wolfe Tones win Senior B Champ

posted 23 Sep 2010, 08:41 by Unknown user   [ updated 23 Sep 2010, 09:45 by Denis Tuohy Agricultural Consultant ]

Wolfe Tones  3-9       Ennistymon 1-9

Wolfe Tones captured the Clare Senior B Football Championship title at Clarecastle on Saturday when they overcame the challenge of Ennistymon. A strong first half performance during which they scored two goals laid the foundation for this victory.

The Shannon men were nine points clear, 2-6 to 0-3, at half time and by the end of the third quarter, they had stretched their advantage to 13 points when the score stood at 3-9 to 0-5.

To their credit, Ennistymon finished strongly and they hit 1-3 from substitute Brian Conway, the goal coming from the penalty spot, but it was too little too late and Wolfe Tones held on for a merited victory.

The new champions led from the outset taking an early 0-3 to 0-1 lead before Johnnie Bridges struck for their opening goal.

They had their second goal just before the half time whistle sounded and this time it was team captain Brendan Hughes who found the net, finishing off a fine move to send his side to the break in front.

The North Clare outfit had the first score of the second half but then Wolfe Tones took up where they had left off and scored 

1-3 without reply, the goal coming from Bridges, his second of the afternoon.

Both sides made changes after this and Ennistymon substitute Brian Conway converted three frees and also found the net from the penalty spot. However, Wolfe Tones remained in control and deservingly took the honours.

Craig O’Brien and Brendan Hughes were always prominent in the winners’ defence. Elsewhere Chris Dunning and Brian O’Connell stood out while Patsy Keyes also made a valuable contribution.

After the game Clare GAA official John Fawl presented the Scales trophy to Wolfe Tones captain Brendan Hughes.

Wolfe Tones: Jason Casey; Bobby O’Connell, Sean Brennan, Craig O’Brien; Brendan Hughes, Joe McGauley, Stephen McInerney; Johnnie Bridges, Patsy Keyes; Chris Dunning, Brian O’Connell, Daniel Gallery; Kevin Cahill, Jamie Roughan, Gary Leahy.

Subs: Stephen Carroll for Roughan (inj); Kevin Corbett for Keyes; Alan Downes for Gallery; Mickey O’Connell for Cahill.

Ennistymon: Shane Keane; James Murphy, Brian McDonagh, Oisin Vaughan; Willie Murphy, David McInerney, Wayne Griffin; David Murphy, Lawrence Healy; Joe Dowling, Kevin Scales, Sean O’Driscoll; Danny Rouine, Sean McConigley, Michael McDonagh.

Subs: Brian Sexton for M McDonagh; Brian Conway for Rouine; John McInerney for O’Driscoll; Francis O’Loughlin for Dowling; David Davenport for Murphy.

Referee: Pat Cosgrove, Corofin