ARCHIVE‎ > ‎News Archive‎ > ‎

All-Ireland Poc Fada Winners

posted 3 Aug 2010, 06:32 by Unknown user   [ updated 3 Aug 2010, 06:33 by Denis Tuohy Agricultural Consultant ]

Last Saturday's Finals were a celebration of the 50th Anniversary of "An

Poc Fada" which began in 1960, a special presentation was made to Damien

Callan the first ever winner of the event on the Annaverna Mountain by

Bernard Dunne (representing the sponsor M Donnelly & Co.) and Seamus

Howlin Chairman of the Leinster GAA Council.


For more information on the history of the event go to


Down's Graham Clarke was King of the Mountain for the first time after

claiming the overall title in the M Donnelly All-Ireland Poc Fada

competition in dry but windy conditions at the Annaverna Mountain in

Cooley, Co. Louth yesterday.


In the best weather conditions witnessed at the venue in many years,

Clarke took honours ahead of Clare's Brendan McNamara, finishing the

five kilometre course in 51 pocs.

Just half a puck separated the pair entering the final straight, but the

Down Senior goalkeeper drove some spectacular shots towards the end to

see him with four pucks to spare at the finish.

Clarke, a regular competitor in this event; had double cause for

celebration, on a day which saw Down footballers upset the odds against

Kerry at Croke Park.

However, the 'Comortais Beirte' title failed to go the Down custodian's

way, as Clarke and Tipperary's Eoin Kelly had to be content with second

spot in the pairs event.

Last year's overall winner Gerry Fallon claimed a stake in the pairs

title for the second year-in-a-row, as the Roscommon Senior hurling

captain teamed up with Galway's James Skehill to claim the title with

113 pucks, with only 65 metres to spare over second placed Clarke and



Meanwhile, Waterford's Patricia Jackman won the Senior Camogie title in

28 pucks.

Jackman, in her fifth year in the competition again proved impressive;

finishing inside the top two for the fifth time; as she claimed

back-to-back honours.

Down's Fionnuala Carr, daughter of former Senior football manager Ross;

claimed second spot with 29 pucks.

Galway's Owen Treacy was the Under 16 boys winner, after he claimed the

title in 26 pucks; two ahead of Munster Champion, and Lismore, Waterford

clubman Sean Barry.

(Message from the Secretary of An Poc Fada National Committee Pat



Many thanks to the Club members in Louth & Armagh who assisted as

scorekeepers & flag-bearers at Annaverna and a sincere thank you to the

all Committee members who also helped to make the 2010 M.Donnelly Poc

Fada Finals such a great day. Your hard work is deeply appreciated.


Congratulations also to all the Contestants who competed especially our


Patricia Jackman (Waterford) 2010 Camogie Poc Fada Champion & 2009


Owen Tracy (Galway) Boys U16 Champion.

Pairs Winners Gerry Fallon (Roscommon) + James Skehill (Galway).

2010 M.Donnelly Poc Fada Champion Graham Clarke (Down).