ARCHIVE‎ > ‎News Archive‎ > ‎

Bord Gáis Energy Munster GAA Awards

posted 25 Nov 2010, 02:48 by Unknown user   [ updated 25 Nov 2010, 02:49 by Denis Tuohy Agricultural Consultant ]

Senior Winners and Manager of the Year Announced for 2010 Bord Gáis Energy Munster GAA Awards

WATERFORD hurler, Michael  Walsh, Kerry's Colm Cooper and Waterford Hurling manager Davy Fitzgerald were today named the top winners of the Bord Gáis Energy Munster GAA Awards 2010. The awards will be presented on Saturday night at a gala dinner in the Malton Hotel in Killarney where over 30 players, officials, referees and legends will receive accolades.

Waterford centre back Michael "Brick" Walsh was outstanding for this year's Munster Champions winning his third Munster title to add to his NHL medal. He's been a constant fixture for his county for the last seven years.
Kerry's Colm 'Gooch' Cooper was announced as Senior Footballer of the Year and he will also be presented his award in Killarney on Saturday night. The footballer has brought his county four All Ireland titles, four Munster titles and three NFL titles since he was first called up to the Kerry team in 2002.

Meanwhile Davy Fitzgerald was named Manager of the Year for his leadership of Munster Champions Waterford senior hurling team, a role the Clare man took up two years ago.
Speaking on the announcement of these winners, Bord Gáis Energy Sports Sponsorship Manager Ger Cunningham said "I am delighted that the hard work and achievements of both the Brick and the Gooch will be recognised at the awards this weekend. Both players have been outstanding for their respective counties over the last few years. And I would also like to congratulate Davy Fitzgerald on his well deserved award for his role as manager to the Waterford hurling team".

Sean Walsh, Chairman of Munster GAA congratulated all the Award winners and said ''All Award winners have made a huge contribution to the GAA in the Province and all are deserving recipients of a Munster GAA Award''
The Bord Gáis Energy Munster GAA Awards will take place this Saturday, 27 November at 8pm.

Full list of winners of the Bord Gáis Energy Munster GAA Awards for 2010 are as follows:
o       Hall of Fame Award Hurling - Mick Roche, Tipperary
o       Hall of Fame Award Football - Declan Barron, Cork
o       Senior Hurling Award - Michael Walsh, Waterford
o       Senior Football Award - Colm Cooper, Kerry
o       Special Merit Award - Dr. Con Murphy, Cork
o       Media Award - Michael Dundon, Tipperary Star
o       Referee Award - Batt Moriarty, Kerry
o       Education Award - Tom Collum, Tipperary
o       Manager of the Year - Davy Fitzgerald, Waterford
o       Distinguished Service to GAA Award - Gerald McKenna, Kerry
o       Under 21 Hurling Award - Seamus Hennessy, Tipperary
o       Under 21 Football Award - Peter Acheson, Tipperary
o       Minor Hurling Award - Niall Arthur, Clare
o       Minor Football Award - Brian Hurley, Cork
o       Camogie Award - Patricia Jackman, Waterford
o       Ladies Football Award - Geraldine O'Flynn, Cork
o       Intermediate Hurling Award - Eoin Conway, Cork
o       Handball Award - Padraig O'Carroll, Limerick
o       Junior Football - Michael O'Donoghue, Kerry