ARCHIVE‎ > ‎News Archive‎ > ‎

Referees for All-Ireland Hurling Finals 5/9/10

posted 18 Aug 2010, 03:17 by Unknown user   [ updated 18 Aug 2010, 03:18 by Denis Tuohy Agricultural Consultant ]



The GAA has confirmed the referees and match officials for the 2010 GAA Hurling All-Ireland finals on September 5.

Michael Wadding of Waterford will take charge of the senior final meeting of Kilkenny and Tipperary and Laois' Anthony Stapleton will oversee the minor meeting of Clare and Kilkenny earlier that day.

Michael Wadding will referee his first senior final and his appointment comes after a steady rise through the ranks of the game's top referees.

The Roanmore clubman has refereed finals at minor (1997) and U21 (2003) level and he was also on duty for this year's Leinster senior final clash of Kilkenny and Galway.

The Déise match official, who has been refereeing for 21 years, said: "I was absolutely thrilled to find out when the news came through. I suppose getting the chance to referee an All-Ireland final is akin to a player being picked to play in one.

"Having been involved on three previous occasions - twice as stand-by referee and once as a linesman - I know how special a day it is and being chosen to actually referee this final obviously overshadows anything that has gone before.

"I would like to acknowledge the support of my wife and family and my club and I am looking forward to it already." 

His match day back up team will consist of stand-by referee Brian Gavin (Offaly), linesman James Owens (Wexford) and sideline official Cathal McAllister (Cork) and umpires Noel Cowman, Pat Byrne, Thomas Martin, Noel Crowley (all Roanmore).

The remainder of the minor match officials' line up consists of stand-by referee Tony Carroll (Offaly), linesman Garrett Duffy (Antrim) and sideline official Tommy Ryan (Tipperary) and umpires Martin Fitzpatrick, Adrian O'Brien (both Kilcotton), Willie Byrne (Rathdowney/Errill) and Martin Phelan (Mountrath).