ARCHIVE‎ > ‎News Archive‎ > ‎

Third Level Bursaries Awarded

posted 19 Jan 2011, 04:42 by Unknown user   [ updated 19 Jan 2011, 04:43 by Denis Tuohy Agricultural Consultant ]


Press Release

Third level bursaries awarded to camogie stars

The Camogie Association and CCAO (Higher Education Camogie Council) awarded eleven camogie players with third level bursaries totalling €7000 at Croke Park this afternoon (Tuesday, Jan 18th).

The joint presentations were made by President of the Camogie Association Joan O’Flynn and Shane D’Arcy, President of CCAO.

The eleven recipients were Sinead Cassidy, a student at Queens University, Belfast; University of Ulster Jordanstown quartet Shauna Murphy, Karen Tinnelly, Sara Louise Carr and Gemma McCullagh; NUI Galway duo Anne- Marie McMahon and Chloe Morey. Emma Connolly and Dervlagh McGuigan, both St Mary’s, Belfast also received bursaries while Meath star Jane Dolan, a student of Dublin Institute of Technology and Marese Floyd,  Froebel College, completed the list.

Speaking about the awards President of the Camogie Association Joan O’Flynn:

“The Camogie Association and CCAO are delighted to be in a position to support camogie players during the course of their studies. This funding will assist each individual during the course of the year and help to offset the significant costs associated with third level education.

In addition, we are pleased to acknowledge the positive contribution that all of this year’s recipients make to the game of camogie. Sport is an integral part of college life, and it is important that players are in a position to devote time to training, developing and playing a prominent role for their college side. We are confident that the annual third level camogie bursary helps players in the pursuit of this.”

President of the CCAO, Shane D’Arcy echoed the comments of President Joan O’Flynn and added:

“I congratulate all of this year’s recipients and wish them well in their academic endeavours and so too their sporting goals with their respective colleges. We are delighted to be able to assist all of them and the third level bursary is of significant importance to camogie players in college.”

The eleven recipients were awarded their bursaries on foot of an extensive application form and interview process which was conducted in December of last year.


•       Comhairle Chamógaíochta um Ard-Oideachas (CCAO the Higher Education Camogie Council)
•       This year’s Ashbourne and Purcell Finals (third level university competitions) take place in NUI, Galway February 19th and 20th.
•       Waterford Institute of Technology are the current holders of the Ashbourne Cup while Dublin Institute of Technology are the current holders of the Purcell Cup.
•       For information on 2011 applications for Third Level Bursaries check out and
•       Recipients of 2011 Camogie Association & CCAO Third Level Bursaries Sinead Cassidy, QUB, (Derry); Shauna Murphy, UUJ, (Derry); Karen Tinnelly, UUJ, (Down); Anne-Marie McMahon, NUIG, (Clare); Chole Morey, NUIG, (Clare); Emma Connolly, St Marys, (Antrim); Sara-Louise Carr, UUJ, (Down); Gemma McCullagh, UUJ, (Derry); Jane Dolan, DIT, (Meath); Dervlagh McGuigan, St Marys, (Derry); Marese Floyd, Froebel, (Tipperary).