Match Reports‎ > ‎

Munster Minor Semi Final

posted 18 Apr 2011, 07:17 by Unknown user

Clare 1-17    Tipperary 2-09

Clare Minor Camogie team secured their Munster Final spot on Sunday evening in Sixmilebridge with an emphatic victory over Tipperary on a 1-17 to 2-9 scoreline. Clare got an ideal start to the match when Ellen Horgan goaled when her long range shot drifted in over the heads of the Tipperary backs to find its way to the back of the net. 

Tipperary however who may have been caught on the hop with Clares swift start were not to be outdone and registered 4 points, 2 apiece for Nicole Walsh and Sarah Cuineen,3 from placed ball and 1 from play. Chloe Morey levelled matters for Clare with a pointed free in the 8th minute. Tipps Maria Ryan was on hand to strike home the rebound after a goal mouth scramble when she got a shot past Clares netkeeper Suzie O’Shea in 10th minute. Clare had 5 more points on the board, 3 from morey Morey with frees and Niki Kaiser and Susan Fahy contributing from play before Tipps Aoife Ryan pointed in the 23rd minute. Tipp substitute Maria Ryan, who replaced Michaela Graham, raised Tipps second green flag in the 28th minute, leaving the final score of the first half to Clares Fahy, bringing the half time score to 2-5 to 1-7 in favour of the visitors. 

Clare levelled matters when Morey pointed a free 3 minutes into the second half and both sides traded scores for the next 10 minutes before Clare, who were getting into their stride and staring to dominate in midfield, hit 3 unanswered points putting them 2 points in front. Tipp narrowed this lead to a solitary point when Walsh put over a free mid way through the half. Clare hit 5 more points to put them firmly in control and on their way to their 4th consecutive Munster Final, leaving Tipps Aoife Ryan the final score of the game, a point in injury time.  

Clare now face Cork, who defeated Limerick on a scoreline of 1-10 to 1-03.

Clare : Suzie O’Shea, Niamh Cahill, Marie McGrath, Leanne Horan, Vera Loughnane, Chloe Morey 0-8 7F, Leanne Boyle, Orlaith Duggan, Katie Cahill, Helen Hehir, Christina Glynn 0-1, Ellen Horgan 1-0, Susan Fahy 0-3, Niki Kaiser 0-2, Sinead Tuohy 0-3. Subs Laura McMahon for Ellen Horgan (27th min), Clodagh Lawlor for Leanne Boyle(H/T).

Tipperary: Orla McEnry, Louise McLoughlan, Sheila Ryan, Aisling Cremin, Treasa Ryan, Aisling Carroll, Clodagh Quirke, Brid Quinn, Andrea Loughnane, Nicole Walsh 0-3 3 F, Michela Graham, Sarah Fryday 0-2, Sarah Cuinneen 0-1, Ciara McGrath 1-0, Aoife Ryan 0-3. Subs Maria Ryan 1-0 for Michela Graham (9th min), Aoife McGrath for Sarah Cuinneen 40th min

Ref Mike Sheehan, Cork